Skip to main content
On Demand

ICA Update (2023 Workers' Compensation Annual Program)

Total Credits: 0.5 CLE, 0.5 Workers' Compensation Law Specialization

Average Rating:
Not yet rated
2023 Workers' Compensation OnDemand Bundle
Workers' Compensation
C Andrew Campbell |  Dennis P Kavanaugh |  Gaetano J Testini
Audio and Video
Original Program Date:
Oct 19, 2023
Co-Sponsored by:
Presented at the 2023 Workers' Compensation Annual Program


ICA Update (2023 Workers' Compensation Annual Program)

Hon. C. Andrew Campbell, Industrial Commission of Arizona
Dennis Kavanaugh, Chairman Commissioner, Industrial Commission of Arizona
Guy Testini, Director, Industrial Commission of Arizona




C Andrew Campbell Related Seminars and Products

ICA - ALJ Division

C. Andrew Campbell the Chief Administrative Law Judge at the Industrial Commission of Arizona has been with the Administrative Law Judge Division since 2014. Prior to joining the Industrial Commission of Arizona, Andy worked in private practice in Arizona for thirteen years, and served as a Judge Pro Tem for the Maricopa County Superior Court, presiding over civil calendars, settlements conferences, and other alternative dispute resolution matters. Andy is licensed in Arizona and South Carolina and practiced in South Carolina from 1999-2001 prior to moving to Arizona. He is a graduate of the University of South Carolina School of Law (J.D. 1999) and Presbyterian College (B.A. 1996).

Dennis P Kavanaugh Related Seminars and Products

Dennis Kavanaugh was nominated on April 10, 2023 by Arizona Governor Katie Hobbs to serve as chair of the Industrial Commission of Arizona. In this role he also serves on the ICA Special Fund Investment Committee. In June 2023 he was appointed to the Dispute Resolution and Medical Resources committees of the International Association of Industrial Accident Boards and Commissions (IAIABC).

Dennis has extensive background in worker compensation law. As an attorney for the Arizona Legislative Council from 1978 to 1984, Dennis was responsible for drafting worker compensation legislation. From 1984 to 1988 Dennis served first as an attorney and then as Chief Counsel of the Industrial Commission. In this position, he supervised Commission staff attorneys and provided representation and defense of the Commission before administrative law judges, the Superior Court, the Arizona Court of Appeals and the Arizona Supreme Court. As ICA Chief Counsel, Dennis drafted worker compensation legislation, rules of procedure, and, on occasion, represented the Industrial Commission before the Arizona Legislature. Dennis worked in private practice from 1988 to 2021 when he closed his law firm. He handled worker compensation and Social Security Disability matters. While Dennis primarily represented applicants in worker compensation claims, for a period of time he also represented several self-insured employers. Dennis went on retired status with the State Bar of Arizona in January 2022. He was a certified specialist in worker compensation for more than thirty years.

Dennis received his J.D. degree in 1978 from Arizona State University and a B.A. in Political Science (magna cum laude) from St. Louis University in 1975. He was awarded memberships in Phi Beta Kappa and Alpha Sigma Nu (National Jesuit Honor Society).

Dennis has been very active in public service. He was elected four times to serve on the Mesa City Council, including two terms as Mesa Vice Mayor. He has served on regional, state and national boards, including time as chair of Valley Metro, chair of the Arizona Commission on the Arts and as a board member of the National League of Cities. He has served on numerous nonprofit boards over the years and currently serves as president of the Arizona Museum of Natural History Foundation, vice president of Visit Mesa, president of the Palo Verde Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution and as a founding and ongoing board member of the Mesa Preservation Foundation. He is a longtime member of the Mesa Rotary Club and the Mesa Chamber of Commerce. Dennis was named Mesa’s Man of the Year in 2015.

Gaetano J Testini Related Seminars and Products


Industrial Commission of Arizona

Gaetano Testini was appointed by Governor Hobbs as the Director of the Industrial Commission of Arizona in August 2023. Prior to this appointment he served the Industrial Commission of Arizona as the Chief Counsel, and as an Administrative Law Judge. He is certified by the State Bar of Arizona as a workers' compensation specialist, and currently serves as the Vice-Chair of Workers' Compensation Advisory Board. Prior to his appointment to the bench, he was the senior counsel handling workers' compensation cases for the Arizona office of Manning, Kass, Ellrod, Ramirez and Trester, LLC. Prior to practicing defense, he worked as an applicant's attorney for a dozen years, ten of those years at a firm in which he was a founding partner. Mr. Testini served on the State Bar of Arizona's Board of Governors. He is a 2010-2011 graduate of the State Bar of Arizona's Bar Leadership Institute, and the inaugural class of the Collaborative Bar Leadership Academy, and has returned to the program as an instructor. He has served on State Bar of Arizona Committees, including CLE , the BLI selection committee and Appointments, was a member of the State Bar of Arizona's ER 8.4 Task Force, and chaired the Committee on Minorities and Women in the Law. He has organized several CLE's for the State Bar of Arizona Annual Convention. Mr. Testini has been selected to Arizona's Finest Lawyers and as a Fellow to the American Bar Foundation. Mr. Testini served on the Phoenix Advisory Council of the Hispanic Scholarship Fund. He is also an adjunct professor at Grand Canyon University. He coaches moot court and mock trial teams for the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law at Arizona State University, including teams in the Earle Zehmer Workers' Compensation Appellate Moot Court Competition. He served on the Los Abogados Board of Directors for 15 years, the majority of which he has served on the Executive Committee, including two years as the organization's President.